SAFE Act State Test Components Available For All States

Posted by Orb Staff on November 17, 2010 No Comments
Categories : FYI

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS), which operates the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS) on behalf of state mortgage regulators, has made unique state test components available for all 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands.

Under the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act), loan originators are required to pass a written test that contains two components – a national component and a unique state component. Originators must take and pass the national component and a unique state component for each state in which they are seeking a license.

The national test component and the first 11 unique state test components were launched by the NMLS in July 2009. Since then, the NMLS has administered over 332,000 tests.

SOURCE: Conference of State Bank Supervisors

Register here to receive our Latest Headlines email newsletter

Leave a Comment